

## Resolution Congratulating Professor Sarah H. Cleveland on her Election to the International Court of Justice

Whereas Professor Sarah H. Cleveland has a noted record of expertise and leadership in the field of international law; and

Whereas the work of the Court is critically important to the maintenance of international peace and security; and

Whereas the American Branch of the International Law Association is dedicated to the study, clarification, and development of international law and the advancement of peace, equity, and justice worldwide; and

Whereas the Board applauds Professor Cleveland's commitment to "preserving the integrity and authority of the court and securing the faithful interpretation of international law;" and

Whereas the Board recognizes that Professor Cleveland becomes only the sixth female and second American female elected to serve on the Court:

Now be it therefore resolved that the Board of Directors of the American Branch of the International Law Association congratulates Professor Sarah H. Cleveland on her historic election to serve as a judge of the International Court of Justice and wishes her the best in her new position.

Done this 21st day of November 2023.

Michael P. Scharf, President Leila Nadya Sadat, Chair William Aceves

David Attanasio Amity Boye

Andrea Kay Bjorklund James H. Boykin

Ronald A. Brand Christina Cerna

Paul Richard Dubinsky

Valerie Epps Aaron X. Fellmeth Martin S. Flaherty

Madaline George Chiara Giorgetti Scott Horton Larry Johnson M. Imad Khan Charlotte Ku Floriane Lavaud Houston Putnam Lowry Philip M. Moremen James A.R. Nafziger

Ved P. Nanda John E. Noves

Alison Dundes Renteln

Gabor Rona Mortimer Sellers Steven Schnnebaum Frédéric Gilles Sourgens

Milena Sterio David P. Stewart Louise Ellen Teitz Nancy Thevenin Iennifer Trahan Nawi Ukabiala Peter K. Yu Diora Ziyaeva